Legends Regatta

2020 23-26 October.

Our title sponsor this year is Pro Marine Electrical, be in to win an amazing B&G Zeus³ 9 Chart plotter.

We also have, prizes from McCormick Rigging, Bridge Marina Travel lift, Burton sails, Globalcomms, Peet Jewellers, Ideal Electrical, Mills Reef, Super Liquor Greerton, Sew Hot monograms, Burnsco and more to come.

Notice of Race NOR

Entry Forms Legends Entry 2020

 Sailing instructions will be up soon.

2020 Entries to 10/10/20

Boat Sail No. Design
Sunshine 3647 Lotus
RiverRebel 5533 SR36
Double Diamond 7550 Given
Zelee 9503 Beneteau  43
Tango 1226 Beneteau 461
Pork Chop 619 Elliot 10.5
Sophie Rose 5217 Nolex 30
Dovetail 7527 Ron Given
Wizzard 7566 TC 12.5
Not Negotiable 6609 Y 99
Crossfire 4044 K Lidgard
General Jackson 4919 Farr
Rimfire 5801 Davidson
Last Call   Beneteau  473
Gallivanta   Fountaine Pajot Saona
Anna Maria 9764 Moody 376
Sula 2257 Sun Odyssey 42I
Elixir N/a Roger Simpson
Candela 4452 Whiting 29
Berenice 4722 Mitchinson 39
Verve 9679 Beneteau
Gillian 6533 Wright 10
Rascal Tom 5038 Young 88
Voodoo Lounge 8415 Edlin 10.5
The Rascal 9620 A 40
Scout NA Astus 24
Outrageous Fortune 9138 Beneteau 47
Kaimai Express 9289 Beneteau First 40
Maya NA Bavaria 410 lagoon
Seas the Day 9089 Beneteau
Sold the Farm   Monohull



Sadly, the 2019 My Legends Regatta is over for another year.

The event was very successful (again) with 25 boats entering and 24 making it to the finish line at Mercury Island.  Regrettably, Voodoo Lounge blew her Mainsail in the boisterous trip up.  

Overall results are:

oParticipation prize, courtesy Pro Marine Electrical and B&G - The Rascal

Ladies Prizes courtesy Peet Jewellers - Ali Preece and Elly Warren

Boat owners prizes were awarded courtesy of Burton Sails, Bridge Marina Travel Lift and Altex Paints.

Regatta Winners - 1st - Pork Chop

                                - 2nd - The rascal

                                - 3rd - Sunshine

Congratulations and thanks to all participants for making the event so memorable.


Major Participation Prize for 2019 is

Entry forms are now online here Entry 2019


2019 Entries as at 21/10

  Boat Sail No. Design Length Color Owner
1 Tango 1226 Beneteau 461 14m White Steve Livingstone
2 Brubeck 3769 Lotus 9.2 White Bill Van Der Vlerk
3 Elixir N/a Roger Simpson 11.4 White Matt Otway
4 General Jackson 4919 Farr 11.6 White Andy Kennedy
5 Zelee 9503 Beneteau  43 13 White Doug Lyon
6 Wizzard 7566 TC 12.5 12.5 White Doug Harrison
7 RiverRebel 5533 SR36 11 White Heag Pettersen
8 Voodoo Lounge 8415 Edlin 10.5 White Graeme Burton
9 Sumer Magic T3754 BA Witchcraft 7.7 White Mike Way
10 Not Negotiable 6609 Y 99 10.34 White Gary Urwin
11 Sunshine 3647 Lotus 9.2 Yellow Ross Hemera
12 Rascal Tom 5038 Young88 8.8 White Robyn Caundle
13 DejaVu N/a Baltic42 12.8 White Ray Carter
14 Formula One 8461 Formula One 16 Grey Carl Smith
15 Verve 9679 Beneteau 12.4 White Greg Brownless
16 Pork Chop 619 Elliot 10.5 10.5 Grey PC Syndicate
17 Synergy 6116 Farr 1020 10.2 White Fritz Lindekilde
18 Anna Maria 9764 Moody 376 37'6 White Colin Alexander
19 Rimfire 5801 Davidson 10.6 White Barry Farr
20 Vara 2440 Pacific 38 11.5 White Bruce Goodwin
21 The  Rascal 9620 Archembault 40 12 White Ross Currie
22 Crossfire 4044 Lidgard 10.6 White Ross Sheerin
23 Dovetail          
24 Candela 4452 Whiting 29 29' White Ian Williams
25 Faarari 6262 Farr 1020 `10.34 White Steve Forward
26 Seas The Day 9089 Beneteau 12m White Roger Clarke

Notice of Race here.  Sailing Instructions and Attachments (Version 2). 

Note that the Sailing Instructions have been amended.

Race 3 will start at 11.00 am on Sunday with prize giving to follow which will allow any boats intending to leave early sufficient time to attend the prize giving.  Additionally, a Coralie Bay start and finish has been added.


Mount Maunganui Yacht Club is proud to hold the annual Legends Regatta.  The regatta is held at Labour weekend (October) at Great Mercury Island at the top of the Coromandel Peninsula.

The Legends Regatta Mission statement reads as follows:

To Create New Zealand’s BEST Annual REGATTA

To Promote;

                                    Fair Play




The regatta is structured to encourage all yachtsman to participate, without needing to have a true racing pedigree.  The format comprises 4 events:

  1.  the race to the venue.
  2.   a round the island race
  3.   a there and back race
  4.   The return to home base

Boats may enter from any place in the upper North Island, with start lines operating from Tauranga, Whangamata, Auckland and Whangarei.

Boats are divided into two classes:  Racing and cruising.  Prizes are awarded to sailing performance (including a trophy) for each event.

The major prize is awarded by random draw from all boats which participate in 3 events.  Past prizes have included a trip to Valencia to watch the America's cup, B&G chartplotter, and travel vouchers.

The regatta has been held for 15 years and looks set to last for many more years.

More details can be found in the sailing instructions issued each year.

Photo Gallery here

the cove

Huruhi Harbour (Mercury Cove)